Meet me to talk about hot heroes

Yesterday we met the girls so today it’s only fair to bring the boys out to play. I have to confess, I am a romantic at heart. My own particular favourite fictional hero is Major Richard Sharpe, a typical alpha male who can kick ass but with a softer, considerate side when it comes to women and a good and generous heart. It is no secret that I started writing romance novels at a particularly poignant time in my personal life, when my first marriage hit a rocky patch and I needed escapism more escapism than dipping into a romance novel could offer.

Who am I kidding? I was plotting my escape!

I think the love of all things romantic began before Richard Sharpe, however. I was an avid Teen Valley High reader and, of course, Judy Blume took up a large amount of my bookshelf too. It was definitely Jilly Cooper who explained the intricacies of sex to me and when I was 18 and on the verge of leaving school, I started reading Jill Mansell and could never put a romance novel down after that. I love the thrill of the chase, the living vicariously, the will-they-won’t-they and the tantalising speculation of two people you know who should be together but for whatever reasons aren’t.

I always like to base the looks of my heroes on someone in the public eye. Not in terms of personality but so that I have a vivid image of what my hero looks like and his non-verbal behaviour too. So, without further ado, let me introduce you to my heroes:

Meet Sam

Sam is a very ambitious young man. He is dedicated to his life-long goal to be
a Michelin Star chef. He has his own restaurant, Number Five, and is focused on achieving the best restaurant in Cheltenham until Grace comes careering into his life. He is based on a young David Tenant; gorgeous brown hair, tall, lean and… erm, I might be getting carried away here. Sam is kind, thoughtful but with his fastidiousness as a chef, he has a strong, commanding side which Grace finds intoxicating.

Meet Guy

 

Guy is tall, tanned and Texan. He’s based on Owen Wilson (another crush of mine) and arrives in Hennie’s life as Charlie’s farrier which means he’s working for the enemy and off limits. Which is absolutely fine, seeing as Hennie’s renounced men…

 

 

Hope my heroes have piqued your interest. Meet me tomorrow to talk about something very special to me; Nana’s ❤

Lx

 

One thought on “Meet me to talk about hot heroes

Leave a Reply

