We are such stuff as dreams are made on…

In celebration of the e-launch day for Alison May’s brand new romantic comedy, Midsummer Dreams, I’m posting today on the theme of all things dream-related.  All my dreams are loosely writing based as having analysed my life I realise I have so many dream-related incidents in my life that you’d fall asleep after ten page refreshes…

So I’m keeping it concise(ish).

I had a dream once.  Actually I’ve had several over the years.  It was a recurrent theme in my school reports, what a daydreamer I was.  Something now echoed in my youngest Son’s reports.  It’s good to dream.  If you don’t dream you don’t have aspirations and if you don’t have those, well, you don’t set yourself goals and then nothing gets done.  I digress…  That dream I was on about.  I came across my dream when I was in the attic recently.  I bet you didn’t know a dream could be a tangible object, but it can, see:

Mickey Mouse

When I was 5 I was obsessed with two things.  Mickey Mouse and dogs.  They were my dreams.  So much so I wrote about them.  All I ever dreamed about was owning a dog and going to Disneyland.  Both dreams remain exactly that; dreams.  I’ve never had a dog nor travelled to Disneyland Paris let alone America.  But that’s the good thing about dreams, isn’t it?  They don’t have sell-by dates.  I’m 35 now; I reckon I’ve got another 35 years left in me to achieve them.

I had a nightmare, a living nightmare, when after writing my first ever novel, I realised I needed to write it all over again.  I received such a positive New Writer Scheme report as well!  ‘I think if you sort out the problems, Lisa, you will have a novel of publishable standard.’ Such praise!  Then I went on Writing Women’s Commercial Fiction with Helen Corner and Julie Cohen and understood why it wasn’t working.  Back to the drawing board I went to plot it all again… what a nightmare!

My dream for the future is to be an authentic, published-in-hard-back Author.  My daydreams these days consist of designing my future book covers.  Only in my wildest dreams can I hope to reach the dizzy heights of acclaim such as my writing heroines, Jill Mansell and Katie Fforde.  But, when I met Alison she was too a New Writers Scheme Member who now has four published books.

Dreams really can come true 🙂

You can download the kindle edition of Midsummer Dreams here: http://bookgoodies.com/a/B00XJOEJTM

About Midsummer Dreams

Four people. Four messy lives. One party that changes everything …
Emily is obsessed with ending her father’s new relationship – but is blind to MIDSUMMER_FRONTthe fact that her own is far from perfect.
Dominic has spent so long making other people happy that he’s hardly noticed he’s not happy himself.
Helen has loved the same man, unrequitedly, for ten years. Now she may have to face up to the fact that he will never be hers.
Alex has always played the field. But when he finally meets a girl he wants to commit to, she is just out of his reach.
At a midsummer wedding party, the bonds that tie the four friends together begin to unravel and show them that, sometimes, the sensible choice is not always the right one.

 

One thought on “We are such stuff as dreams are made on…

Leave a Reply

