The Pinnacle Point of reaching Page One

Hello, good morning & glad tidings to you all… yes I think I must still be in some sort of festive mode because I realise that it has been about six weeks since I posted anything on my blog *nervously clears throat* Are there any of you still there?

To justify my lack of virtual vocal chords I can tell you that I have been busy, busy, busy.  No change there then but there’s been a lot of bottom-on-chair-you-need-to-knuckle-down-with-this-Lisa hours of plotting, planning and post-it notes (okay, bit over-heavy with the alliteration now?) and I can finally announce *imagine royal fanfare at this point*

I am ready to start my rewrite today!

I imagine you might be baffled at my excitement about this but if you have read my previous posts last year about the feedback I received on my novel you will know that in order for the story to be succinct and believable then some of the characters and their motivations need attention.  And with the advice of the very kind and knowledgeable Julie Cohen (www.julie-cohen.com) I realised that it wasn’t going to be a case of moving a chapter here, or rewriting a scene there…

I needed to go back to page one and start again.

So for the past few weeks I have been up to my ears in spider diagrams depicting ‘WHY is she doing this?’ and ‘HOW can he express that?’ and trying to come up with an interesting, entertaining and motivating plot.  Once I’d done that I had to begin the post-it process (http://lisahillie.wordpress.com/2010/10/01/cornerstones-writing-women%e2%80%99s-commercial-fiction-course/) where I detailed every scene, what happens (plot) and how it relates to which each heroine’s character arc.  Having a different colour post-it note for the plot and each heroine’s character arc is (for me anyway) a very effective way of easily seeing where I’m neglecting one character for too long (I have one heroine and two secondary heroine’s, ambitious I know!) and whether I’m threading storylines together evenly to reach a climax…

Post-it Plotting
Of course I still don’t know whether the outcome will be something anyone wants to read (!) but I shall persist.  And at least with all this prior planning I know where I’m going this time and what I want to express.

I’ll keep you posted (no pun intended, honestly) on how it’s going 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Pinnacle Point of reaching Page One

  1. Congrats and good luck Lisa! Sounds like you have done a ton of work so hopefully you can sail through the re-write! Look forward to following your progress here 🙂
    Ajx

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for your support AJ! I can’t wait to tell you all how it’s going too, having people read my blog is a great hand-holding exercise, not that I’m scared about this rewrite or anything *averts eyes* xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

